Sydney label Low Key Source drops their second mix CD showcasing the label’s catalogue and this time expertly mixed by Detroit’s own House Shoes, CEO of Street Corner Music. Since the inception of Low Key Source in late 2016 the label has released forward thinking Hip Hop, Reggae & Soul music with a heavy focus on production.

Included in this mix are tracks from Australia’s Plutonic Lab, Vida Sunshyne and Allysha Joy, New Zealand’s Ladi6, Raiza Biza, Haz & Miloux along with the UK’s Children Of Zeus who team up with Black Milk for “Won’t End Well”. Producers such as Apollo Brown, Tall Black Guy Productions, Stro Elliot, Eric Lau and Kase Avila are included in the mix too. Also featured are exclusive tracks from House Shoes, Sndtrk, Tenacity and J-1 AKA The Deer.

House Shoes, AKA Michael Buchanan, isn’t concerned with popularity. Unfailingly outspoken, the Detroit-born DJ and producer condemns and exalts music with equal vigour. If he hates your record, expect soul-atomizing honesty. If he loves it, he’ll play it endlessly. House Shoes spun Dilla beats ad infinitum at famed Detroit venues like St. Andrews Hall, and during his years in the Motor City, House Shoes also championed rappers like Danny Brown, Guilty Simpson and Quelle Chris, far before they were known to the general public.

Since moving to Los Angeles in 2006, he’s become a fixture in the city’s perennially vibrant music scene, releasing his own music (2012’s Let It Go), DJing in over 40 countries and hosting a weekly radio show, Magic. Since 2013, he’s released over 60 projects from upcoming producers and artists to multi-platinum producers through his record label, Street Corner Music. With an ear for beats that deconstruct rote boom-bap templates and defy the limits of sample-based sounds, he’s shaping the future of the music he’s devoted his life to promoting and protecting. 

1. K, Le Maestro – Dem Boyz 
2. Vida Sunshyne – All Three Eyes 
3. Plutonic Lab Feat. Natalie Slade, Raiza Biza & 8H – Give It Up 
4. Moe Dert – BusinesS
5. K, Le Maestro – Pyrex 
6. House Shoes Feat. Oh No, The Alchemist & Roc Marciano – Dirt (Snips Remix)
7. Tall Black Guy x Allysha Joy – Sip Of You 
8. Raiza Biza & REMI Feat. Sampa The Great – Jiggy 
9. Choicevaughan – Know One 
10. Ladi6 – Royal Blue (Christoph Eltruento Remix) 
11. Apollo Brown Feat. Jehst & Tyler Daley – Reminiscing 
12. Children of Zeus x Black Milk – Won’t End Well 
13. Juicy The Emissary – Timber! 
14. Bryzone_ybp – Dip. 
15. Sndtrak – Slippin 
16. Silent Titan Feat. John Givez, Fly Anakin & Saint Marcel – Awake 
17. Tenacity – Distractions 
18. Eric Lau – Jeff’s Piano 
19. J-1 AKA The Deer – Green Smoke 
20. Plutonic Lab Feat. Natalie Slade, Raiza Biza & 8H – Blind Eyes 
21. Dertbeats – Throwback Two Step
22. Planetself x Daniel Crawford Feat. Blurum13 – The Chosen 
23. Kase Avila – The Labyrinth
24. Tall Black Guy Feat. Mario Sweet – Beware Of The Groove 
25. Stro Elliot – Miles Of Funk 
26. Stro Elliot – Marvin’s Mood Part 1 
27. Haz & Miloux – All Night 
28. Ghost McGrady – Parks N Shit 
29. Eric Lau – By The Sea 
30. Colourd Noyz – Terracotta 
31. House Shoes & Big Tone AKA Big Shoes – Homage 
32. Ladi6 – Royal Blue (Silent Jay, Sensible J & Leigh Fisher Remix) 
33. Low Key Source Vol.2 Mix (Continuous)